DAM Awards 2019 Nominees

Voting for the third annual Denton Arts & Music awards has been open for a little over a week now and the event is about a month out. As every day passes, it gets a little more exciting. Join us for the Feb. 15 event to honor local musicians, activists, photographers, writers and more for this year’s awards. Check out the event Facebook page for more details about the time, venue, how to purchase VIP tables and more. Proceeds for the event will go to the North Texas Dream Team, whose mission is to “advance the dreams and goals of students and educate and bring awareness to everyone, regardless of color when it comes to issues in our community.”

This year’s awards include 22 Arts & Community categories and 23 Music categories for a grand total of 45 categories. The categories were decided upon by peers within the community. Once we had our categories, we talked to local artists and musicians to help us build the ballot. You can learn more about the process here and here. You can vote on your top picks in each category here.

The DAM Awards are a way for us to celebrate the current culture in Denton. We are proud to have the opportunity to not only regularly cover the local music and art scene, but also to honor some of the best of the best in Denton. Check out our recap of 2018 to learn more about our readership, attendance for last year’s DAM awards and our most read content of 2018!

Here are the 2019 DAM Award Nominees with some links that are hopefully helpful to you when you cast your ballot. Voting ends Feb. 10 at midnight!

Arts & Community Nominees:

Published Author

Jake Laughlin

Courtney Marie

Caitlin Pryor

Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam

Shelley Tucker

Poet/Spoken Word Artist

Anjelica Fraga

Ellie Gonzalez

Maureen Leak

Courtney Marie

Emma Ricks


Jenna Duncan

Jordan James

Dalton LaFerney

Mike Miller

Amy Roh


Emilia Capuchino

Sara Carpenter

James Coreas

Jake King

Jeff Woo

Creative Photographer

Ellie Alonzo

Erin Devany

Sarah Lewis

Tony Najera
Ed Steele

Activist/Activist Organization

Mari Nunez-Janes

Cindy Spoon

Friends with Benefits

Indivisible Denton

OUTReach Denton

Creative Collective


Lost Poet Lounge


Spiderweb Salon

Sundown Collaborative Theatre


CASA of Denton County

Denton County Friends of the Family


Friends With Benefits

Drag Queen

Eva DeLeon

Trisha Delish

Kendrix Kyle

Enchanté LeFay
Kabrina D Sierra

Drag King

Tony Fo-Hawk

Danny Foxtrot

Christian Gayye

Clint Liquor

Adam Mutt


Ina Panamour
Birdie Holly
Tulla Moore
Dahlia Derringer
Lily Liqueur


Onyx Fury
Jackie O'Nasty
Lana Del Gay/Ike Onyk

Stage Production

Best Little Shop of Horrors
Music Theater of Denton
Ranch Drescher
Weird Destiny

Makeup/Hair Artist

Logan Coley Broker
Kailey Coonrod
Lindsey Hall
Dahlia Knowles
Rain Sprauge

Film Exhibition

Denton Black Film Festival

Festival de Cine Latino Americano

Stray Fest

Thin Line Film Festival

UNT Short Film Club

Short Film

The Witching Hour dir. by Erin Devaney
Take No Prisoners: A Journey Through Time and Music  dir. by Andrew Valentine
Skin Tight dir. by Ciara Boniface
Lioness dir. by Nicole Lefteau
Pageant Perfect dir. by Samantha Mcdanel


Chinaza Agbor
ArtLab 3000
Dan Black
Bailey Chapman
Jonathan Pinto

Graphic Artist

Andi Harman
Taylor Higginbotham
Claire Morales
Mallory Murphy
Kari Presswood-Perlman

Mixed Media Artists

Alicia Eggert
Katie Montgomery
Emily O'Connor
Matthew Sallack
Rachel Weaver

Visual Artist

ArtLab 3000
Taylor Barnes
Samantha Melomo
Emily O'Connor
Mike Petty


Aleah B
Tony Casillas
Ranch Drescher
Javoris James
Joey Johnson

Dentonite of the Year

Deb Armintor

Kamyon Conner

George Ferrie

Ellie Gonzalez
Courtney Marie
Peter Salisbury

Music Nominees:


Matt Grigsby
Kim Nall & The Fringe
Levi Cobb & The Big Smoke
Raised Right Men
Tristan Thorndyke


Michael Briggs
Eric Delegard
Kind Beats
Kelly Upshaw

Electronic Act

Def Rain
Felt & Fur
Lorelei K

Experimental Act

Flesh Narc
Manifest Destiny's Child
Sexual Jeremy
Sarah Ruth

Funk Act

Body English
The BoomBachs
Puddin Taine
Sol Kitchen
The Southpaw Preachers

Rap Act

AV the Great
Lil Durt

Indie Rock Act

Hey Cowboy!
Mr. Breakfast
Sad Cops

Jazz Act

For Now
Lizzi Trumbore
Luzecky Trio
Sky Window

Metal Act

Big Hand//Big Knife
In Spite of Madness
Wrought of Obsidian

Noise Act

Daniel Ryan
Reliant K2
Thin Skin

Pop Act

Hey Cowboy!
Lorelei K
Puddin Taine
Troy Garrick

Punk Act

The Noids
Record Setter
Sylvania Ave.
Thin Skin

Solo Artist

William Austin Clay
Matt Grigsby

Non-Traditional Venue

Casa de Monstros
House of God
J&J's Basement
Midway Craft House
Studio E

Traditional Venue

Backyard on Bell
Dan's Silverleaf
Harvest House

Radio Show/Podcast

Brave Boys Live Podcast
KUZU: Colonel Burns Honky Tonk Hour
The Denton Vibe With Diva Girl Ellie (Ellie Gonzalez)
KUZU: Mostly Local with Michael Briggs
KUZU: Music Without Borders

Sound Engineer (LIVE)

Brent Best
Kevin Cellar
Chase Harris
Adriana Valls
Christopher Walker

Sound Engineer (Studio)

Michael Briggs
Brack Cantrell
Eric Delegard
McKenzie Smith
Kelly Upshaw

Talent Buyer

Regina Bugarin
Zachariah Walker
Garrett Gravley
Marcus Washington
Rick Eye

Full Length Album

Rescue Me by Katrina Cain
HELD by Felt & Fur
Shift By Troy Garrick
All That Wanting by Claire Morales
I Stole This Off The Internet by Thin Skin


The Soft Kind by Hey Cowboy!
Sidequest by Lil Durt
Transition Songs by Sad Cops
Passion Aggressive by Soggy
Sylvania Ave. by Sylvania Ave.

Song of the Year

Rescue Me by Katrina Cain
Okay by Troy Garrick
Cowgirl by Hey Cowboy!
No Telling by Claire Morales
Numb Hand by Sad Cops

Music Video

No Telling by Claire Morales
Cowgirl by Hey Cowboy!
Tea Leaf Dancers by Body English (Flying Lotus Cover)
Honey by Sad Cops
Little Johnny by DOMA Kid

Header image courtesy of Denton Arts & Music.

Header design by Kylie Phillips.