Dentonite's Guide to the 2019 City Council Elections

It’s already almost April, and that means Denton city council elections are coming up soon. Check out our recent article about candidacies announced for city council to familiarize yourself with some of the people running in each district. You can also visit the City of Denton website for more information about the elections.

Election Day is May 4, but early voting will take place from April 22-30 at several locations around Denton. Check out the guide below to get all the details on where you can vote, who’s running, how to figure out what district you live in, and more.

Early voting polling locations (April 22-30):

*Note: Registered voters may vote at any early voting location in Denton County.

  • UNT Greek Life Center (which was recently added as a polling location), located at 621 S. Welch St.

  • Denton Civic Center (which will be open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Friday, April 26 and CLOSED on Saturday, April 27 due to the Denton Arts & Jazz Festival), located at 321 McKinney St.

  • Denton County Elections Office, located at 701 Kimberly Dr.

  • Robson Ranch Club House, located at 9428 Ed Robson Cir.

Election Day polling locations (May 4):

*Note: Registered voters may only vote in the district in which they are registered.

District 1:

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Recreation Center, located at 1300 Wilson St.

  • Pecan Creek Elementary School, located at 4400 Lakeview Blvd.

District 2:

  • North Branch Library, located at 3020 N. Locust St.

  • Denton ISD Annex, located at 230 N. Mayhill Rd.

District 3:

  • North Lakes Recreation Center, located at 2001 W. Windsor Dr.

  • University of North Texas Greek Life Center, located at 621 S. Welch St.

  • Fire Station No. 7, located at 4201 Vintage Blvd.

  • Robson Ranch Club House, located at 9428 Ed Robson Cir.

District 4:

  • Denia Recreation Center, located at 1001 Parvin St.

  • L.A. Nelson Elementary School, located at 3909 Teasley Ln.

Candidates for each district:

District 1:

  • George Ferrie

  • Gerard Hudspeth, Incumbent

District 2:

  • Keely G. Briggs, Incumbent

District 3:

  • Matt Farmer

  • Diana Leggett

  • Jesse L. Davis

District 4:

  • Emily Meisner

  • John Ryan, Incumbent

What district do I live in?

Check out this page to find your current city council member. Visit this page to see the early voting results, which will be posted at 7 p.m. on election day.

Header image courtesy of Unsplash.

Header by Kylie Phillips.