Candidacies Announced for 2019 City Council Election

ICYMI, all four district seats for city council are up for election this upcoming May, and there have been several announcements by Denton citizens who are looking to win them. This is who we know of so far.

District 1

George Ferrie officially registered for election with the city on Jan. 16. You can learn more about him and his vision for District 1 here and find out about the details of his campaign kickoff here.

Incumbent Gerard Hudspeth registered with the city on Jan. 16 as well for re-election in this district. You can learn more about his time on council and his campaign here.

District 2

Keely Briggs is currently running unopposed in district 2 and announced Thursday morning that she would be seeking re-election. You can keep up with her campaign here.

District 3

Diana Leggett has announced she will run for the D3 seat, and Matt Farmer has announced his candidacy as well. At this point, Don Duff is not seeking re-election.

You can learn more about Leggett’s campaign here and see what all Farmer is about here. You can also find more information on his campaign launch party here.

District 4

Incumbent John Ryan has announced he is running for re-election. You can find out more information here and meet the man in person at his campaign kick-off.

Emily Meisner announced her candidacy for D4 Thursday. You can follow her campaign here.

This election will take place on May 4, 2019 and early voting will be held April 22-30. 

Follow The Dentonite for updates on the candidates running this election season.

Header image courtesy of the City of Denton.

Header design by Kylie Phillips.